Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Noob Looking Into An SC300

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-07, 11:18 AM
2JZ_SOARER
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob Looking Into An SC300

so im coming from the world of hondas and i currently have a '94 integra GS-R. im not too familiar with SCs or toyotas in general. i have some knowledge on Nissans (SR20s and KA-Ts) but mostly i have a vast amount of knowledge on hondas (b16s, b18s, turbo hondas, etc.)

im currently on honda-tech.com which i understand has a lot bigger of a community. ive been searching through these forums a few hours yesterday and today but i still have a few unanswered questions.

im looking to get an SC300 5spd which at the time there are 2 being sold locally. is there black interior? both of the ones local are tan and im not too big a fan of it. it seems that even if i switch over to the SC my gsr will probably still be a bit quicker. im looking for 350-400whp daily driven out of the SC and for now im set on going NA-T. im pretty informed on how to turbocharge hondas and im thinking the concept is relatively the same here. since the SC share the same block as an n/a supra i was wondering if i could use a stock turbo supra manifold? or is there another suggestion on something thats not too pricey since 350-400whp should be easily achievable on this motor.

im not too sure what turbos these motors will respond too best either. generally from hondas we use T3/T04e turbos for budget setups or we could step up to SC34s, SC61, etc. or with enough money we can go for GT28s and GT30s. with a bigger motor here im sure the spool time should be much faster (5krpm in a gsr for full boost in an SC61) which is another reason im looking into an SC300. mainly i wanted a rwd car that has some aftermarket support, fun, nice, reliable, with a theft rate that isnt quite so high.