Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

GTE head on GE block

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-06, 08:33 AM
spooling
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GTE head on GE block

Ok I am new to these cars so please keep that in mind.

I would like to 1.5jz an SC300, as this would take care of the crossover manifold and would allow my to run a coil type ignition. The flaw with this is that I am accustom to AEM EMS and there is not a PnP version for this applicaiton. In doing some research, I have read several places that the ge and gte blocks are identical. Would it be possible to place a 2jZGTE (tt) head on a GE (NA) block , thereby allowing me to use the gte harness and eliminating distributor/ NA manifold and allowing me ot use AEM?

TIA
Old 10-18-06, 08:37 AM
Rising_Sun
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You can also use the JDM 2JZ TT wire harness with the 1.5JZ and use the PnP AEM EMS.
Old 10-18-06, 11:15 AM
spooling
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by Rising_Sun
You can also use the JDM 2JZ TT wire harness with the 1.5JZ and use the PnP AEM EMS.
Really, has anyone done this before?
Old 10-18-06, 11:22 AM
Shrummi
Lead Lap

yea but isn't the 1.5jz a 1jz motor with a 2jz head.
Old 10-18-06, 12:13 PM
Sly Guy Yu
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Shrummi
yea but isn't the 1.5jz a 1jz motor with a 2jz head.

no, people wanted the 3ltr of displacement and the smoothness of the 1jz HEAD!
Old 10-18-06, 12:39 PM
motorheaddown
Lead Lap

Received 13 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by spooling
Ok I am new to these cars so please keep that in mind.