Pacific For events in California, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, and Alaska.

Inner fender well linings.... To keep or not to keep

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-12, 12:04 AM
Jussjoshin
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Inner fender well linings.... To keep or not to keep

So I have a dilemma. I just lowered my car some more and now I'm rubbin the inner fender well liner. As a ase certed tech I know it should keep it an I know why it's there blah blah blah. Question for you slammed guys is this. Do you have yours in still? And if not have you run into any major problems? If I remove them I'll be covering all wiring and connectors to take over the job of the liners but there is still so much that becomes exposed to the elements of Washington weather. Let me know how you guys are runnin (with/without) and if you've had any issues.
Old 02-13-12, 03:17 PM
mkiiisupra
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I took mine out for the most part. If you go low enough, the tire will rub the wireharness we have under each fender and eat through some wires. That's when those people reroute it in a few ways. Theres a couple of threads on that if you search the 1st gen gs section. Im not quite that low yet though, so what I did was just took the mounting clips off of the harness and zip-tied them through a couple holes so it pulled it up about and inch or two. And considering the rain, I just put plastic ZipLoc bags over a couple of the connection points and taped it up tight. I also cut up the fender lining and placed small pieces over the bags. But now the backside of the foglight is open to the wheel well water spinoff, so again, just tightly taped plastic bags over the back of it like a cap and haven't had any issues.