NX - 1st Gen (2015-2021)

The 2 litre Turbo - more KW hidden inside?

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-15, 02:49 PM
dunebuggy
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default The 2 litre Turbo - more KW hidden inside?

Just throwing this topic out there in case any engine experts have any info and thoughts...

I've done a lot of reading in recent weeks about the engine used in the 200t NXs. A few times, I've seen mention of the fact that the engine is tuned somewhat for Economy. And that in fact, it will be capable of a higher Kw output.

Lexus plans to use this engine in other cars in future, thus it might be tuned differently.

Questions for engine experts:
1. Do you think the new engine has additional Kw "hiding" in there somewhere?

2. If yes, can this power be released either via aftermarket or any sort of Lexus-approved (service) tuning or adjustment?

I'm new to the notion of "hidden" power output.

I have read a lot of reviews about the car. Most are quite positive about the car's power and acceleration times of as high as 6.9 seconds for 0-100 for the F-Sport, most likely in Sport+ mode.

This is impressive to me, since it is even faster than the RAV 4 SX6 which had a 3.5L V6 engine that had so much power the car could barely control itself. It would do about 7.4seconds. If you ever have a chance to drive that particular RAV 4, try it because it's really punchy.

Some reviews state however that some competitors (we are talking about crossover vehicles with similar dimensions) are faster. I believe there are some BMW X3s that will do mid to low 6seconds.

Of course there is also the Porsche Macan which has a larger engine. But its worth mentioning that the Macan S Diesel only does 6.3 seconds from its 3.0litre V6, which is not far ahead of the 6.9 seconds of the NX 200t F-Sport. (upper Macans are in the 5 and 4 second range).