NX - 1st Gen (2015-2021)

Ownership Experience - 200t Premium vs Regular Fuel

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-15, 10:29 AM
Swacer
Lexus Test Driver

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by LexBob2
IIRC Hyundai and Kia recommend regular in their 2.0t engines.

Probably just a case of how different manufacturers decide to go to market with their vehicles.
Eek....I don't even consider those two as actual companies.

Cheap, half #(%*$ designed cars. I had a genesis coupe for a short time right after I graduated college, and it was a joke and a maintenance nightmare.
Old 02-18-15, 11:24 AM
LexBob2
Lexus Champion

Received 137 Likes on 111 Posts

Originally Posted by Swacer
Eek....I don't even consider those two as actual companies.

Cheap, half #(%*$ designed cars. I had a genesis coupe for a short time right after I graduated college, and it was a joke and a maintenance nightmare.
They're not everyone's favorites, but they are now mainstream brands and sell a lot of cars. I'm surprised they've kept their long warranties, but it is a selling point. Agree that their reliability is still spotty.
Old 02-18-15, 12:09 PM
01LEXPL
Lead Lap

Received 68 Likes on 58 Posts

Originally Posted by Joeb427
If that's the case why is the RX and ES now have a 87 recommendation and the NX 91?I still used Premium in a '12 ES I owned but that's me.I didn't and don't worry about the extra cost of 93 in my area..
Regular fuel is .50 cheaper than Premium in my area and most people would rather have go with 87 .
You have people on this thread looking to use 87.
There's been threads like this with just about every Lexus model that recommends Premium.
The EX/ES use a completely different motor with lower compression. Instead of a Turbo-4 they run a smooth V6. It does not need the fuel properties of high-test to run efficiently.

Good on you for using premium, it burns cleaner anyways [less solvents/additives put into the 91+ fuels, unlike 89 and below]