NX - 1st Gen (2015-2021)

Rear LED turn signal upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-15, 11:06 PM
NXOwner
Racer

Received 64 Likes on 51 Posts
Default Where to put resistor?

So, this weekend, I removed my taillight assembly in an attempt to replace the turn signals with LED bulbs. I have the proper bulb and a set of resistors to deal with hyper-flashing. I tell you, I'm an expert now at removing those assemblies. Thanks to the manual and the folks on this thread that explain out it's done, it worked. (I totally recommend masking around the whole assembly before beginning!) [see pics below]

Anyway, I didn't install the new LEDs because I was unsure of where I could put the resistors. There isn't a lot of room inside the assembly to put them. My resistors are a couple of inches (or more long). They are the ceramic type.

What resistors are you guys using? Where are you putting them and how are you securing them to avoid rattling, etc? Also, is there a combo LED bulb and resistor unit?

Rear perspective of the masking around taillight assembly before removal to install LED turn signal bulbs.

Rear perspective of the masking around taillight assembly with bolt cover removed before removal to install LED turn signal bulbs.

Side-quarter perspective of the masking around taillight assembly before removal to install LED turn signal bulbs.
Old 09-28-15, 05:22 AM
spyderman3
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I gave up on the project since I was never able to get it to stop hyperflashing.. I dont have time to mess with it and troubleshoot.
Old 09-28-15, 08:11 AM
typocl
Instructor

Received 35 Likes on 32 Posts

I believe LED bulbs labeled as CANBUS have the built in resistor. I'd try it, but I'm too lazy to yank the whole thing out...
Old 09-28-15, 09:06 AM
NXOwner
Racer

Originally Posted by typocl
I believe LED bulbs labeled as CANBUS have the built in resistor. I'd try it, but I'm too lazy to yank the whole thing out...