Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

Steering Wheel Squeaking

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-05, 03:00 PM
OceanView
Lead Lap

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Steering Wheel Squeaking

I have a 98 ES300 that has a funny squeaking sound everytime I turn the steering wheel.
I have removed a steering wheel from an older Toyota before but I have no experience with removing one with an air bag.
Does anyone know how to do this?
Or better yet, can I somehow stop the squeeking without removing the steering wheel?

Thanks
Old 04-11-05, 04:02 PM
lexusk8
Lexus Fanatic

Received 21 Likes on 12 Posts

I would first check the level of the power steering fluid under the hood and see if it's at the right level. Low fluid usually yields the squeaking of the steering wheel. The other possibility is extreme cold weather (like near freezing temps), but that mostly happens first thing in the morning.
Old 04-11-05, 04:54 PM
VVT-i
Lexus Champion

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Where is the noise coming from? Inside the car or around the engine area.

If it's coming from inside of the car. You can try to spray WD40 around the steering boot where the steering shaft goes through the firewall. If you look down by the brake pedal and follow the steering shaft, you will see the rubber boot. Spray some of the WD40 around the steering shaft and the rubber boot while turning the steering wheel. Good luck.
Old 04-11-05, 09:36 PM
ssultan
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'll second that. I ended up spraying the shaft and boot on my fathers highlander with good old WD40 to prevent squeaking. It hasn't bothered him recently. They symptoms were IDENTICAL. Next time though, I might try one of those synthetic fancy lubricants that 'bond' better.
Old 04-13-05, 10:18 AM
OceanView
Lead Lap

Originally Posted by VVT-i
Where is the noise coming from? Inside the car or around the engine area.