Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

oil leake in rear main seal

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-04, 03:05 PM
Vonnie418
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question oil leake in rear main seal

Hello everyone, this is my first time so I'll try to be as consice and clear as possible, please bear with me.
I've put a deposit on a 2001ES300 and had it inpsected by a Lexus dealer this saturday. I'll have a faxed copy available tmrw when I get back to the office but so far the information I have is the following. There is a minor (I'll have to find out exactly what minor means) oil seepage coming from the rear main seal, where the engine and transmission meet. According to the seller (who actually sugested I could have it checked by dealer since it was there getting a rear view mirror replaced under warranty) he seepage was not enough that it was actually leaking to the drive way and the dealer says that the problem should be resoved by replacing the gasket.

I went to the library and checked out some car maintenance books and also did some research on the internet and realize that if it is in fact just the gasket that is a fairly simple and inexpensive solution. But my concern is the following:

1-An oil leake can be known to manifest in one area but originate in another part altogether so I'm concerned that they might be guessing and through a process of eliminiation they are addressing the gasket first because it is the least expensive solution.

2-Therefore, if it's not the gasket it could be the main seal which I've found out is a more complicated and expensive repair, aparenty any where form mid $300's or considerably more depending on the mechanics rates.

3-If it is the main seal, is this covered under the powertrain warranty? The seller mentioned that is is and i checked out Lexus web page but it's not that specific.