Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

resurface pads when changing rotors?

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-04, 07:59 AM
waldis
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default resurface pads when changing rotors?

i am going to change my oem rotors soon. i brought a set of used rotors with about 2000 miles on them. my question is, when i am changing my rotors, do i also need to change the pads? i have heard that i might have to sand the pads a little bit to have a smooth surface.
any help will be great. thanks
Old 04-15-04, 11:22 AM
TxLexus
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Depends- Are your pads needing to be change?
If your pads look good and still has life on it. I would sand it on conrete. Like the sidewalk til the surface looks dull.

Just my opinion, I am not a mechanic, I am a diy kinda guy. Whatever tricks I know, I ll share.

Good luck
Old 04-17-04, 12:09 PM
saber
Pole Position

The only foolproof way to avoid problems like squealing brakes or pedal pulsations or front end vibrations while cruising at freeway speeds is to use new OEM rotors in combination with new OEM pads and break them in gently for the first few hundred miles and even after breakin, don't be an overly aggressive, hurried driver around town like so many owners are nowadays. One huge benefit of modifying your driving style like this is that your rotors will last a long time and never need to be turned (which just grinds away valuable life off the rotors). Instead, you'll just need to replace the pads when they wear out and never have to replace the rotors unless they become thinner than the minimum factory spec for thickness due to normal wear.
Old 04-17-04, 08:23 PM
waldis
Driver School Candidate

Originally posted by saber