LX - 1st and 2nd Gen (1996-2007) Post here for topics related to the LX470 or LX450

Steering wheel question

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-11, 08:40 PM
LXurious
Advanced

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Steering wheel question

When I'm on the highway going 65+ I noticed when i let go of my steering wheel it starts to shake and wobble and it doesnt seem normal to me. The SUV pulls slightly to the right but that is very minor the car doesnt shake just the steering wheel. I'm not sure if it is because i havent changed the wheels since i bought the car in 06(30k miles on them) or if I should do the recall? any inputs?
Old 01-31-11, 06:03 AM
LXBriGuy
Driver

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

LXurious, i am not an expert, and have only had my LX since the spring. However, I did do the recall and it did seem to tighten up the steering. I also noticed that the truck's tires need to be balanced more often then my car's. I am rotating them and balancing them frequently.

The pulling to one side seems to also be a common issue and I thought there is a Tech Service Bulletin posted for that fix for the 2006-07

Finally, when i purchased my LX, i noticed that the steering wheel was always cocked to one side, slightly. Take it to the dealership and then they checked the front end alignment and work on the steering wheel and would say it was fixed but the steering wheel would then be cocked to the opposite side. It took the dealership about 3 tries to get the steering centered.

For what it is worth,
Brian
Old 01-31-11, 04:28 PM
LXurious
Advanced

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Did you prefer the tighter steering? I know it originally is fairly "loose" if you will.
I recently did the 30k service last month so the tires should have been rotated.