LX - 1st and 2nd Gen (1996-2007) Post here for topics related to the LX470 or LX450

Our new 98 LX!

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-16, 09:28 PM
offroadkid
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Our new 98 LX!

I'm new to the Lexus scene! Our first Cruiser was a 1992! Since then we've owned a 1997, then a 1998 100 series, and then back to a 1997 Collector's Edition that just went away last weekend and we replaced her with a new to us 1998 LX470. It's been 6 years since I've owned a 100 series!

It was early Saturday morning and I knew our old girl was going to her new on Sunday (Valentine's Day).

I was getting nervous that I wouldn't have a new vehicle right away and opened up the laptop to look on CL. This time there was a 1998 LX freshly posted with no pics and so I called the dealership and asked to have pics sent. I liked the color, especially gray interior which I'm convinced hardly anyone ordered from the factory as most of the ones I've found all had tan!

We drove down to San Rafael to look at it and although it needed a freshening-up and some issues addressed it was a steal for the price. It was dirty which I was okay with as it had just been listed and smogged only no recon. They apologized about it being dirty and sent us off with all the keys and a full tank of gas!
After the first week of ownership I began to fix the things on my list. First mod was a set of Sylvania SilverStar zXe headlight bulbs, and first repair was the "D" and "L" light in the instrument cluster! Every Cruiser we've owned I've had to replace the "D" light and I'm sure you can say the same too! The cabin dust filters also were replaced and the rearview mirror attaching screw snugged!