LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Advice on addressing poor service

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-15, 02:27 PM
wayman28
Pit Crew

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Advice on addressing poor service

I had a bad experience with a Lexus dealership and am looking for some advice on how to approach it.

I am fortunate enough to live in an area where there are several Lexus dealerships within driving distance (nine of them). As I have posted in a separate thread, a few months ago I was experiencing a vibration and humming noise from my front end. The previous owner of my car had it religiously serviced at a specific Lexus dealer in my area so I naturally went there for help. After a test drive and two hours of diagnostic time they told me that the vibration was coming from a torn front axle boot and the noise was from my tires. This didn't make a lot of sense to me but I'm not a mechanic. They suggested I get new tires and replace the entire front axle (they said they couldn't just change out the boot). The axle replacement would cost me about $2000. I paid them their $125 diagnostic fee and left to get a second opinion.