LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

LS Rear Badging

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-14, 03:37 AM
dankwiz
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS Rear Badging

Newbie here. Just bought a 14 LWB AWD and want to remove the rear badging. Does anyone know if the big L on the back is held on by adhesive only is or it adhesive with a tab (or 2) that sticks into the body. I don't want to take it off only to find a hole or two behind it for tabs.
Old 12-24-14, 03:47 AM
Shibumi1
Lexus Champion

Received 84 Likes on 60 Posts

I remember there are 2 holes... but the depression will still be there.. how do u plan on dealing with that? Only two options i see are a different emblem or filling it in an repainting the deck lid.
Old 12-24-14, 04:08 AM
greg3852
Lexus Test Driver

Received 29 Likes on 27 Posts

May I ask why you want to remove it? Just curious.
Old 12-24-14, 06:35 AM
DJWLDW
Pole Position

Received 419 Likes on 311 Posts

I am with greg3852 why?

Dennis
Old 12-24-14, 08:17 AM
roadfrog
Lexus Fanatic

Received 505 Likes on 383 Posts

Originally Posted by DJWLDW
I am with greg3852 why?

Dennis
Indeed. Curious minds want to know!
Old 12-24-14, 08:38 AM
Devh
Racer

Received 43 Likes on 42 Posts

If it's the fad of 2005 then the OP is probably thinking of the De-badging look.
For a short time for about four years there was trend to remove the rear badges to give a car a clean look but what end up happening is that the car ends up with an eyesore of a void that looks odd. Along with the de-badged look came the tinted taillights.
I particularly do not like badging especially when they plaster the technology all over the car and I was even more impressed when Lexus removed the "Lexus badge" on the rear after 2010 but not having any badge makes the car look salvaged.