LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Anyone upgrading the Horsepower on their LS460?

Old 10-02-14, 10:27 AM
Devh
Racer

Received 43 Likes on 42 Posts

Originally Posted by FreddyG
Thanks for the info. I enjoy reading and learning about the different tuning of the various brands. I also agree that if you understand the basics of tuning and tuning management, it's pretty much all the same. They just may take different routes to get the final results.

I'm new to Toyota/Lexus, but want to learn about them, so I Appreciate the info that you're sharing. Thanks for that.
You are most welcome
What would be interesting is seeing a GM LS engine swap into one of these cars as the fastest rout to power then trying to exploit whatever little the sock engine can provide. There really is no replacement for displacement and reliability.

Last edited by Devh; 10-02-14 at 02:05 PM.
Old 10-03-14, 11:07 AM
FreddyG
Intermediate

Received 85 Likes on 61 Posts

Originally Posted by Devh
You are most welcome
What would be interesting is seeing a GM LS engine swap into one of these cars as the fastest rout to power then trying to exploit whatever little the sock engine can provide. There really is no replacement for displacement and reliability.
There is actually a replacement for displacement though....Forced Induction (turbo's , superchargers, etc.) and also they are Really reliable for the power that they're capable of making.

My old Vette made 602 RWHP on a stock short block, through an A4 trans, stall speed and still got 29 mpg on the highway. I know it sounds like I'm BS'ing, but it's true. That's what's nice about FI, is that when you're not in boost, it drives like a normal vehicle.They are Amazing motors.

Just tuning those LS motors can get 45+ more RWHP. They really are incredibly receptive motors with A LOT of potential in them.