LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Well **** me...look what my stupidity did... LOL

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-13, 08:29 PM
adamls2
Lexus Champion

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Well **** me...look what my stupidity did... LOL

Just got the rear fenders shaved, so I put on the back wheels to test drive around the block to see if it was still rubbing, and also to see if I needed to do more fender modifying. I put the the 72 to 60.1 hub rings on for the 1st time to make sure there was no vibration as well. I'm not really experienced with this stuff at all, so what happened to the right side was that the polyurethane ring didn't line up to the hub correctly, and I guess I tightened it all back up with it installed incorrectly....must of popped out while I was trying to line up the studs to the holes... So I torqued everything up and went for a test drive around the block probably for 5 minutes and noticed a slight wobble,(only went up to about 25mph).

Once I got back and looked at both sides, I noticed the right side was poking out more than the left side. I then immediately knew that the ring wasn't sitting on the hub correctly. I took off the wheel and noticed one nut was REALLY hard to get out, and a lot of metal shaving came out with it as well. I must of over torqued that nut since it was not correctly lined up to the hub. So a bent or stripped stud is the result LOL!

The ring is all ****ed up so I got one of the others and very carefully re-installed the wheel...it was then correct lined up to the other side. I wasn't able to put one of the nuts all the on that bad stud again, so I guess I probably need a new stud... On a positive note its not rubbing anymore though

So my question is how hard is it to replace that stud? I really don't have much knowledge about this, so any input is helpful. I went ahead and ordered a new lug stud from eBay for 4 bucks.