LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

2008 LS460 Coolant Running Low

Old 12-28-12, 07:01 AM
DeeLexy460
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2008 LS460 Coolant Running Low

Hello Everyone! I'm new at this so forgive me if I mess up at some point! About 3 months ago I noticed at times my Heat would blow out cool air. This would happen mostly when I was sitting idle or in traffic in a "stop n go" situation. I did some research and found out that my Coolant was on the low end. I bought the Pink Coolant from the Lexus dealer and filled up.
I checked the levels again a few days later and it was low again. So I topped off again and looked for any puddles underneath the car when sitting, I paid attention to any smells, and looked to see if I was blowing white smoke out of my exhaust. NOTHING! My indicator stays on the middle range and never runs cold or hot. I topped off after seeing that it was low again and didn't have to put as much in there, but it definitely was low again. It's now been about 2 weeks and it's still at the same spot (near the low indicator) but it doesn't seem like it's getting any lower.
I have done more research and I cannot find any issues with the 2008 LS460's having issues with head gaskets or coolant issues.
I recently had my bumper replaced at the Lexus dealer Auto Shop because of a pothole I ran over that dinged it (also bent my rim)....I know this might not have anything to do with it but I thought I would add this tid bit since I didn't notice the issue until I got it back from them!
I'm just really at a loss...does anyone have any ideas before I bring my car into the EXPENSIVE Lexus Dealer where I KNOW they are gonna try to get me for MORE ISSUES....Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails 2008 LS460 Coolant Running Low-deelexy.jpg  
Old 12-28-12, 09:38 AM
jmcraney

Received 254 Likes on 194 Posts