LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

HOW TO: Gummy Trunk Button Fix

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-14, 06:10 PM
shrikelex
Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Well done DIY! Mine still looks/feels new, so I'm opting out of the repair. I'd say if you used a rubber/plastic protectant, that it might make it last until Miley Cyrus gets too old to do her twerk dance.
Old 09-04-14, 07:22 PM
peter596
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gummy Trunk Button

I'm new to Club Lexus and have a "Gummy Trunk Button" on my '07 LS 460. Not as bad as yours. Mine is sticky but not deteriorated. The dealer wants $449 to make the repair (part & labor). I chocked. Question: What about covering the rubber with black plastic tape (like electrical tape)? I know that is not a proper repair, but would it work and buy me some time? Like one to four years.
Peter
Old 09-04-14, 07:28 PM
Tee

Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts

Originally Posted by peter596
I'm new to Club Lexus and have a "Gummy Trunk Button" on my '07 LS 460. Not as bad as yours. Mine is sticky but not deteriorated. The dealer wants $449 to make the repair (part & labor). I chocked. Question: What about covering the rubber with black plastic tape (like electrical tape)? I know that is not a proper repair, but would it work and buy me some time? Like one to four years. Peter
It's best to do the DIY fix with info provided in this thread to achieve the longevity you want.
Old 09-05-14, 03:43 AM
enjo
Rookie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Lextrician
nice! I got plans to parallel a switch to make it possible to to close and open the trunk from the inside of the car.
Please let us know, I have been wondering about that.......
Old 09-05-14, 05:23 AM
dlbuckls10
Racer

Received 96 Likes on 80 Posts
Thumbs up

Great instructions/pictures for those who attempt to fix the gummy trunk button.
Old 09-08-14, 03:54 PM
Gotcha350
Lead Lap