LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Why are used LS460s so cheap?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-11, 08:19 AM
WBuffettjr
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why are used LS460s so cheap?

Hi all, I'm new to the world of Lexus and excited to purchase my first. I've been looking at a lot of used vehicles (from many brands) lately and it seems like the LS460 has got to be one of the best deals out there. I am startled to see how cheap the car is given it's reliability rating (among other glowing ratings of course). That an expensive car depreciates rapidly in a down economy isn't surprising to me, but what surprises me is how cheap the 2007/2008 models are relative to the the price of a new car not much older, and how cheap they are relative to the LS430 (or how expensive the LS430 is relative to the LS460 depending on how you want to look at it).

When I look up LS460s, it seems you can get an 2007 for $30,000 or perhaps less with haggling. A 2008 can be had for $35,000 or less. The thing that surprises me though is how expensive the LS 430 is. A 2004-2006 can cost $29,000 or depending on the mileage. Why would someone pay $29,000 for an older model that is also a year or two older and likely has more mileage when you can get the latest model that is a year newer?

I've seen road noise is an issue with 2007 LS460s...but it isn't an issue with the 2008, is it? And even if it was, how much road noise are we talking here? I've owned Honda Civics before, so unless the car sounds like a hair dryer next to your head, is it that big of an issue to warrant a $55,000 drop in the price of the car and worth the same amount of money as an older model (LS430)?

Any help would be appreciated. Just want to fully research my options.
Old 06-14-11, 08:36 AM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 184 Likes on 143 Posts