LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Running Sub Power/Remote into trunk??

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-11, 07:17 PM
CashOverAs
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running Sub Power/Remote into trunk??

Wow! I'm no pro but I've installed and uninstalled a good amount of systems in my time. Working on my new (to me) LS is like no other car I've had. The thing is built like a tank.

Usually, running the power into the trunk is the easiest part. Snap up the bottom part of the back seat and then a few bolts to remove the upper part of the back seat and your basically IN the trunk.

Not on the LS...Any tips on the best way to get this from the back seat into the trunk?

Thanks!
Old 03-08-11, 07:48 PM
cmasten
Lead Lap

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

There is a fuse box on the driver side behind the back seat and accessible from the trunk on the side. You can follow the bus lines that are already feeding into that area and there are several grommits on the rear wall behind the rear seats that you can feed into. I had an installer run my cables as he ran 4 gauge from the battery all down the passenger side and then into amp area which is also in the trunk , there are lines there also that feed into the trunk which is what he used, but your right, this vehicle is solid
Old 03-09-11, 04:57 AM
CashOverAs
Driver

Thanks cmasten. I was reading your posts actually looking for the answer.

So like under the trunk closer motor I'm guessing? I was hoping to avoid removing the whole trunk lining, but I guess that's the next step.

Thanks!
Old 03-09-11, 05:24 AM
305Busa
Instructor

Received 48 Likes on 28 Posts

Nice posting. I was looking to do the same thing this weekend. Im tired of my ML sub blowing. I listen to a lot of rap and hip-hop and I dont think it was designed for that. So Im going with an aftermarket amp and sub. I couldnt figure out a way into the trunk though.