LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Newbie here with a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-14, 08:30 PM
arcteryx
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here with a few questions

Just closed a deal on a 04 LS430 last night. It looks like it has the premium package since it has rear seat heaters. No nav/ML radio. It has 121K on it and is metallic gold.

I had a PPI done by an awesome independent shop before I bought it. There verdict was that it's a good solid car but is lacking some with maintenance, mainly the TB wasn't done at 90K. I did check it out on lexus.com and it has records, but stopped about 2.5 years ago.

Sidenote- It does seem that since this is such a $$$ item, that folks either are putting off this maintenance item off, or trading them in around 90-120K. .

Anyway, I drove it straight from the dealer to the mechanics last night to get the TB changed, rad flushed, oil changed and new spark plugs, which were original too. The shop is going to do the TB the right way- removing the camshafts and putting in new seals and caps.

That said, I do have a couple of questions. I have searched but haven't come up with definitive answers
1- who/what are dealers, or ideally vendors, that give discount to Lexus OEM parts
2- i need some good rubber floor mats. Weathertech seem to be recommended by some, but are there others? they have to be rubber
3- since this doesn't have BT from the NAV/ML, I need to add the ability to use my iPhone. I see http://www.vaistech.com/site/sl3b.php from Vais tech has some reviews. It appears this will play music, but will it also allow the user to talk hands free? If not, is there one out there that will do this?

TIA.
Old 12-02-14, 09:16 PM
writes123
Pole Position

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

1. sewell parts
2. i don't know
3. no idea