LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Decided to go with Pirelli P7 for my LS430

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-15, 08:22 AM
XJSFan
Lead Lap

Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts

What PSI are you guys using? My 2006 LS430 door placard states 32PSI for the 17 inch tires and I have always thought the car handles better on the highway at 34PSI. My Lexus service manager recommended to me the other day, that for my car they are using 36PSI. What do all you tire experts think? LOL. Obviously, PSI can make a tire feel smooth, rough and possibly louder. I also think this can make a difference between purchasing either Pirelli, Michelin or Hankook tires. Thanks guys...
Old 02-28-15, 08:35 AM
jpv7774
Lexus Test Driver

Received 33 Likes on 26 Posts

well I am no expert........When I got my tires installed it was cold out....the dealer started me out at 36psi knowing that the tire would lose a few pounds sitting in my garage. I believe the door tag says 32 psi....I will have to check......but it is my belief that the less psi the softer the ride...and not as crisp handling. There again.....my main goals were quiet and soft/smooth so I run on the lower end of the spectrum from 32 to 35.........I do not race my car around turns....although it takes highway ramps great. I think u can achieve better gas mileage by having higher psi......just depends what your pref is
Old 02-28-15, 09:39 AM
XJSFan
Lead Lap

I'm mostly highway driving, so maybe 36PSI is ok. Not a lot of pot holes on our freeways. LOL.
Old 02-28-15, 02:05 PM
Bob04
Pole Position

Received 157 Likes on 116 Posts

Originally Posted by jpv7774