LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Which LS430 to buy?

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-13, 03:08 PM
toddwiens
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which LS430 to buy?

Hello everyone, I am looking for a 2004-06 LS430.
I am new to Lexus. I've owned Porsche's, Mercedes-Benz & Jaguar.
I've owned an Avalon for 7 yrs and it's been a fantastic car. So I figured that an LS 430 would be a great combination of luxury, room, style and reliability.
But I don't know what to get and what to avoid.
I'm reasonably familiar with the option packages.
Should I avoid a Nav. car? I've heard the air suspensions are super high $$ to repair. Avoid them?
What about mileage? If I get a nice 50K mile car, will it need to have a major service at 60K?
And, if I find an 80K mile car, will it need a timing belt at 90K?
Any helpful advice is greatly appreciated.
Old 08-13-13, 06:35 PM
warminwisc
Lexus Champion

Received 31 Likes on 28 Posts

Like an Avalon, but V8 RWD no comparison in my book. Nav is fine bluetooth comes with it Jab is right NAV is outdated but hey car is tried but true. Air can be costly usually above 150k it goes out coilovers are 1500, reg susp is nice also. No real 60k service unless ya like shelling out dough. These things are cheap to keep unlike the German brands. T belt at 100k or so, fluid changes every 50 k, do not turn the rotors if the brakes do not pulsate and go to a Yota or private garage. Look for a well kept well documented car and yur golden. Almost 175k miles on 2 ls's and 600 dollars in out of ordinary repairs. The LS is getting up there in age and some new cars do compete on a smaller chasis, non v8 non RWD, so drive some other cars.

Can ya fill us in on the German/British repair experience?
Old 08-14-13, 06:10 AM
Legender
Racer

Received 85 Likes on 76 Posts