LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

oil change DIY question

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-11, 09:28 AM
jac430
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil change DIY question

I intend to do some DIY on this car in the future.
Mainly for 2 reasons:
* the dealer is very expensive
* the local dealer has a questionable reputation

I guess some things I should be able to do myself.
I am not a car mechanic, but with some help from you, I am convinced that the relatively easy things should be possible for me.
A time-belt change is certainly beyond my possibilities and equipment.

Le me start with a (stupid?) question about oil change:
If I raise the front of the car by, let's say, 20cm (8 inches), can I then still drain all the engine oil?
(Or is it an advantage that the engine is at an angle?
It would work if the drain plug is (with the car raised) at the then lowest point.
Otherwise it would not be possible to drain all the oil)

To be honest: I have not looked under the car yet

Thanks for your advise.

Jac
Old 04-13-11, 12:32 PM
jimbosr1
Racer

Received 146 Likes on 115 Posts

buy some ramps and you will be good to go.
Old 04-13-11, 12:37 PM
Mr.Doback
Driver

When I do my oil change I feel it is best to raise the car up only on the drivers side because the drain plug is facing the passenger side and that allows the pan to empty out almost completely.

Then remove filter, drain, clean, reinstall plug and filter and refill.

Old 04-13-11, 02:22 PM
lex2001
Driver

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Another tip would be to cut the plastic shield under the car where the filter is located so that you don't have to unscrew half of it each time. It may already have been done if the dealer has changed the oil. You just bend it down to change the filter. It makes it alot easier.
Old 04-13-11, 06:32 PM
AlexusAnja

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts