LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

how much do you pay for oil change ?!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-09, 01:01 PM
bassil2022
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how much do you pay for oil change ?!!!

how much do you guys pay for oil change and filter?
I just bought my LS430 UL month ago. I went to one of a good repairers called Southern Import. I took a quote for doing couple of things like:

1. changing oil and oil filter with a check list they do ($ 100- 125) they use full synthetic mobil 1 oil
2. change A/c filter since the monitor told me to change ($87 for both front and rear) + the part price, they said it cost $51 for the front and $76 for rear
3. tire rotation ($15)
4. fixing the driver side mirror because it does not go up or down just left and right ($72.49 just to check what is the problem).

so we are looking at something between $350-400
is that normal or not?? because this is my first time to do oil change and maintenance. Also, I don't want to take my car to a cheap place like Walmart or so.

any suggestions.
Old 08-10-09, 03:04 PM
AlexusAnja

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I don't know how handy you are, but the things you listed are some of the easiest DIY things, but anyway...

1. Is this a dealership? $125 seems steep for synthetic, although for $125, that would be cheap for a dealership. I would think $90 for synthetic at a "3rd party" shop is about right.

2. The cost to change the filters is crazy. Those A/C filters are pull out and put in, no screw driver even needed. I would say 15 min. in labor rate tops, and parts are too much too. The filters are only $30 tops, at most. Go online to a sponsored seller here and buy off of them, then bring to get replaced.

3. Tire rotation? Have him throw it in with that crazy high oil change charge.