LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Where is the EGR value?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-03, 05:04 PM
LexLS
Lexus Test Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Post Where is the EGR value?

Hey guys, I don't have a shop manual and I'm no mechanic...

I was wondering where the EGR value is located in my 91? Can someone please circle it in photoshop or something. This may sound like a dumb question but is it possible to clean it? I read that residue can build up inside it. I just replaced my PCV value today, very easy, especially with the help of Lee's thread I found in a search. I couldn't find anything helpful on this topic though. I took this picture of my engine bay this afternoon. I am starting to clean it by the way .
Attached Thumbnails Where is the EGR value?-enginebay9-29-03.jpg  
Old 09-29-03, 05:53 PM
Jasoneo5
Lexus Test Driver

Received 32 Likes on 22 Posts

An answer to this question would also really help me out to! What does the EGR valve do? Does it have to do with smog?
Old 09-29-03, 06:19 PM
persian451
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

the EGR valve/ or pipe?

I know the pipe is back here, had it replaced.. kinda big job
Old 09-29-03, 07:23 PM
Pagong
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally posted by Jasoneo5
An answer to this question would also really help me out to! What does the EGR valve do? Does it have to do with smog?
Yes it is a smog equipment, it is actually called the Exhaust Gas Recirculating Valve. What it does I have no clue, probably something to keep the air clean
Old 09-29-03, 07:52 PM
LexLS
Lexus Test Driver

Post some info I found on what it is...

EGR Valve

The Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR) valve is used to send some of the exhaust gas back into the cylinders to reduce combustion temperature. Why would we want to do this?