LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Transmission Solenoids Gone Bad?

Old 02-11-15, 05:31 PM
mikob
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Yamae
What do you mean by "50% up the hot section"?
Do you mean that the level is just the half level of the hot zone? If so, add till the top of the hot zone when ATF is warm. Sorry that English is only my third language and I'm not good at it.

I drive a 98 Celsior. This is my actual experience and this may be useful for you to know the character of this Aisin's AT.

When I filled the ATF Toyota type IV up to the center of the hot zone, I had similar problems as you mentioned. I added some more ( about 0.5L= a half qt+) and it was mostly OK but it was not fully OK when very cold.

So I added some more (can't remember how much precisely) and the AT worked perfectly. It was a few mm ( 1/10 inch) higher than the top hot zone. I dare kept that level now since I drained some to be a bit less than the top level and this caused a slow shifting problem when very cold again. What I think is that the best level is the high end or even slightly higher than that and I added some more. It has been more than 28 months after that and the AT has been working perfectly.
Yamae, that is an interesting anecdote. Since I already have the new filter as of today, I will change the filter anyway and make sure to put fluid to the top after driving the car for a few miles.
Old 02-23-15, 02:34 PM
sereousl
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by mikob
So immediately after I flushed and filled my transmission fluid on my '90 LS400, I realized I filled it too much. So I got back under and flushed until the proper level. The transmission went from perfect to abysmal instantly.

Now I'm getting these symptoms:
*Takes a long time for gear to engage, car wont move in drive or reverse occasionally (esp. in cold weather)