LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

suspension diagonosis/symptoms

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-14, 09:19 AM
bdruff
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default suspension diagonosis/symptoms

I've been reading threads and there is lots of good information, but my symptoms seem different, although I just acquired the car so that could be part of it.

I test drove and purchased a 96 LS 400 with 135,000 miles. About 100 miles after I drove off, I noticed a creaking when I turned the wheel left or right. It was noticeable at slow speeds, was persistent, and I knew I wouldn't have missed it during the test drive.

I drove it home to take a look.

The sound was definitely coming from the drivers side and when the tires got about an inch off the ground, it sort of let loose and dropped about an inch. I didn't think much of it, jacked both tires up and looked at everything. I'm not a mechanic but I've worked on a lot of cars over the years. I turned the wheels all the way to the right and then left. The only thing I noticed was a torn boot on the passenger side tie rod. Everything on the driver side looked ok. I had a helper turn the wheel both ways with the car on and still nothing. No creaking/popping.

The sound can best be described as a creaky door opening, more noticeable the slower I'm moving.

It was getting dark and I couldn't find anything so I lowered it down. I drove down the street and there were no symptoms.

About 400 miles later, I heard it again. Something is not right but I don't know where to start. The easy thing to do is to replace all the suspension as preventive maintenance, but I don't want to do that. I just want to repair what is broken.

I'm going to jack it up again and take some more pictures but this one was what I was looking at when it let loose and dropped.

Driver's side
Old 12-03-14, 10:21 AM
RA40
Super Moderator

Received 463 Likes on 361 Posts