LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Bad Brembo Rotors (rear)

Old 07-14-14, 12:46 PM
peterls
Advanced

Received 57 Likes on 43 Posts
Default Bad Brembo Rotors (rear)

I've been using Brembo for many years and always thought of them as "better-than-average" confirmed by excellent stopping power... until I got my latest pair of rears for my LS.
I installed them and got terrible rumble noise which an hour later became clanging sound like the car was going to fall apart. I thought it was the wheel bearing, except they never go bad so fast. Since the car was also being slowed down a little with each revolution of the wheels, I was really concerned that car will stop in the middle of the highway; it was impossible to drive it at normal speeds, so I had to slow down to 25mph and drive all the way to the right with flashers on. It took hours to get home...

So, once I got home, I took off the wheel to see if there was something I could tell just by looking at it, and lo and behold I found a burn spot on my brand new rotor!

I had to adjust the heck out of half-used drum pads to be able to drive the car at all. Thinking this was just one off, I ordered another, new, identical Brembo Rotor from rockauto.

The new rotor came, and being tired after a long week, I took the wrong wheel off.
Well, "Since I am here, I may as well look around..." and - you guessed it - I found ANOTHER burnt spot on the other rotor!

Now I was pissed. Luckily, that one was less out of shape than the other one, so just a little parking brake adjustment did the trick, but the other one I had to replace all together to be able to drive.

The crappiest rotorsI have ever seen in my entire life.

Some of the problem can be explained by the fact that bolt holes are a little too large. Just in case you are asking - yes I do use two small screws to hold discs in place while working and they are OEM and brand new too.