LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Newbie here- '93 and possible ECU and cluster problems.

Old 07-25-13, 09:55 AM
JaxBchBum
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here- '93 and possible ECU and cluster problems.

Hello all, new to the forum.. Just got a 1993 LS400. It's having the hesitation when stepping hard on the gas to increase speed. Also, the speedo doesn't work right away, it usually kicks in around 40mph or so, and the O/D OFF light keeps flashing. I've been digging and digging for the cause, which could be either the Vehicle Speed Sensors OR the ECM. Judging by how many others had this exact problem and all signs point to the ecm, that's what I'm going with.. There's no heated seats, no trac, and no air suspension. So my question is, can I use an ECM for a 50140 to replace my 50141? I'm assuming the major difference is the 50140 has trac, heated seats, etc.

I did search and search and found no real definitive answer to my question. I know I can pull apart the ECM and replace the capacitors myself, but I'm not nearly comfortable with soldering electronics such as an ECM. Any help would be greatly appreciated, especially since Autozone has a deal going and I can get a reman ECM from them for $300.

Last edited by RA40; 07-25-13 at 10:13 AM. Reason: descriptive title
Old 07-25-13, 10:07 AM
Legender
Racer

Received 85 Likes on 76 Posts

It's been suggested that you pay a few dollars for the parts and take them and the directions to an electronics repair place and have them do the soldering. Not everyone is good at all things. I'd recommend that as much cheaper...and there's no guarantee that the reman ECM wouldn't have the same problems later. If it was me, I'd repair mine and put it back in. Cheaper and when you open it up you might see the tell tale signs that it was indeed the problem.
Good luck.
Old 07-25-13, 10:11 AM
RA40
Super Moderator

Received 463 Likes on 361 Posts