LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1999 LS400 Radio Install Questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-13, 12:15 AM
Sc0pe
Lexus Test Driver

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default 1999 LS400 Radio Install Questions

Background
So I'm planning on installing my head unit/amp/sub myself (with the help of a buddy or two) in my 1999 LS400 with OEM Pioneer/Lexus Premium Sound and I've been heavily researching the subject checking out wiring diagrams and what not for the past week. Also, this is my first time touching car audio (can't really say the same for the buddy or two I mentioned earlier) so please don't hurt my feelings too badly.

Problem
So I've noticed a few things that are either hazy or not mentioned at all in the the various threads/diagrams/etc. that I've been checking out around the forum and the internet in general.

Questions
1. Dimmer wires - Since they don't seem to exist as for as the 98-00 models go, what are some suitable alternatives?

2. Illumination wires - There are two different wires which are both labeled as ILLUM in the wiring diagram I linked. Could I use either one?

3. Antenna wires - So there are ~3 antenna wires based on the following diagram (attached below) labled ANT, ANTA, ANTB. Which do I use for the head unit? I have a 99.5% feeling that I'm going to need an antenna adapter so any ideas on that?

4. Speaker wiring - Okay, I'm completely lost here. How would I go about wiring the speakers so that they ran off of the head unit and completely bypass the amp?

5. Reverse wire - I'm not installing a reverse camera during this install but plan on it in the future. Should I tap the wire now, or just wait? And if so, then which wire should I tap into?

6. Power wire - Are there any wires in the car that I can use to power the head unit? I remembered someone mentioning the power for the OEM CD changer awhile back. Would that work?