LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

New 1993 UCF11 owner - story and questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-12, 07:45 PM
bondavi
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New 1993 UCF11 owner - story and questions

Bought a 1993 UCF11 LS400. But first there's a backstory behind my purchase:

>>>
Back in '93 my freshman year in college, I had a propensity to drive a lot of different cars, whether it be my friends', car dealers, or clients when I worked as a high-end mobile auto detailer. I had a long trip between North and Southern CA planned and back inside a weekend. At that time I drove a red '89 Civic Si hatchback. My girlfriend of 4 years at that time, high school sweetheart who followed me over to college (bad idea for my first year grades!). Anyway, I convinced the resident dorm manager to rent a silver/black '93 LS400 from Enterprise with only 990 miles on it under her name and I paid the $400 (!!) tab for the weekend getaway.

I remember the distinctive smell of brand new Lexus leather, softness and the comfort of the back seats. Took it up north where the GF's parents being Mercedes' folk, impressed with it.

Hit 145mph on the I-5 a few times, but I passed a 18-wheeler doing so one time and the windforce threw the suspension off and the car bounced from side to side. Lesson learned.

Returned the car 600+ miles later in 3 days. I was jaded.

Fast forward to 1997, me (single and lovin' it) during my last year in college (I took a year off in '94 and moved to the SoCal OC area) I got involved with a 38yo "cougar", newly divorced with two kids, a $5500 alimony payment and an affinity for ahem..."partying."

And she drove......yes, a white/tan 1993 Lexus LS400!

For the good part of a year to year half we beat around in that car, all over SoCal.