LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

All my crazy Lexus issues SOLVED!! (ECU-leaking capacitor)

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-14, 11:54 PM
RA40
Super Moderator

Received 463 Likes on 361 Posts

Make sure all the connectors in the dash are connected. There are plenty up there that can get dislodged when removing the ECU. You won't have to run it for a week. The moment ours was plugged in and taken for a drive, it was noticeable.

Glad you got it fixed. What is the production date on yours?
Old 01-02-15, 03:03 PM
HIxUZZ80
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 93 SC400 ECU caps bad?

Hawzit from hawaii.

I have a SC400 and ive been chasing cel lights and codes and problems for the last 2 years and i think the caps could easily be the issue. i read this whole thread yesterday.
quick history on my car. im the 4th owner, the owner before me got some DUIs in the car, then it sat for 6years untill i found it rotting away. picked it up for 900$ the fuel tank was full of rust, changed it and the fuel system thing starts right up, but really rough and loping real bad. fast forward 2years car cant connect to scanners, sluggish sloppy shifts, weird idle up one day down the next and many other small problems.

its pretty easy to pull the ECU on my SC im thinking about pulling it today and visually check it. i just did it too when i put my SAFC II on. but ive already been calling around to find a skilled solderer. pretty confidant the caps are the issue.

any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by HIxUZZ80; 01-02-15 at 03:59 PM.
Old 01-02-15, 04:00 PM
surfRider
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by RA40
Would do the ripple test to check the ECU output. My other thought is O2 sensor/s.