LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

New Lexus Owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-12, 09:29 PM
eldookay
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Lexus Owner

Hello everybody. I am new to the world of Lexus and finally found and bought my first, a 1993 LS400. I have been wanting a lexus for the past month or so and decided I will find and buy one. Finding one in my budget that was clean was going to be challenging but waiting and being patient paid off. The car is a 2 owner vehicle that is super clean. It has 155k miles on the clock and a stack of Dealership service records. It has a few issues such as the O/D light is flashing which is probably because the speedo and odometer are not working (suspecting bad speed sensor), the A/C isnt blowing cold, and the tach needle is not lighting up. I have yet to touch the car as I had my parents secure the car for me where they live, I am just waiting for a good weekend to go and pick it up. Best part about it I only paid $1375.00 for it. Well enough of the chit chat on with the pics...
Attached Thumbnails New Lexus Owner-yup.jpg   New Lexus Owner-uh.jpg   New Lexus Owner-sure.jpg   New Lexus Owner-mail.jpg  

Last edited by eldookay; 05-19-12 at 09:31 PM. Reason: information addition
Old 05-20-12, 04:41 AM
SpencerT
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

A bad wheel speed sensor will cause the trac and abs light to come on, not the overdrive. Also your speedo would probably still be working if it was just that.
Old 05-20-12, 07:04 AM
ocr
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The wires for the O/D could be loose. Check that first, that's my recomendation.

Actualy, is it dropping from 4th to 3rd when the light comes on? If so, then I would check for loose wires. If not, then IDK.
Old 05-20-12, 07:10 AM
billydpowe
Lexus Champion

Received 172 Likes on 130 Posts

Welcome and Congrats, looks like a nice one....
Old 05-20-12, 07:39 AM
eldookay