LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

going to fix rust spots and repaint car with $300 MAACO service..uh oh..

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-11, 10:10 PM
Patsum
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default going to fix rust spots and repaint car with $300 MAACO service..uh oh..

I have myself a 1991 ls400 with two tone silver paint and there are scratches to the paint on a few places and rust spots and bubbling paint near wheel wells....

I have decided that I am going to try to personally fix all the rust spots by sanding them down and use some sort of filler then sand that down using finer and finer grit.... then they can prime and paint the car

then to MAACO I go for their $300 paint service...I have never used them before...I am getting the cheapest option paint with MIXED clear coat and paint..not separate clear coat.....I thought since I have silver that it wont be noticeable and the 20 year old paint cant be better than brand new paint even if it is cheap.

Anyone used MAACO for paint before?

What should I do after I sand down the rust spots...any filler I need to use since I am going down to bare metal? Any product I should use or advice with removing rust and prepping surface before I give them the car to paint?

Thanks all...
Old 09-29-11, 10:29 PM
emarknot
Pole Position

have it repainted after your 3hundo paint job.
have some razor blades handy after the fact.....to scrape off all the overspray where you can.. get all new window trim,all new chrome pieces, blah blah blah.

if you want your 3hundo paint job to look good, prep the entire car, take off what you dont want painted, and then take it to them.
at that point, might as well paint it yourself with some rattle can. it will last as long and you will save yourself about $260! not only will it NOT last a year, but chances are, it will be garbage.

if you want a solid paint job, pay extra, lose the car for about a week...and call it done.