LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

help! having a problem with my 1990 ls400

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-11, 11:53 PM
lexus_love
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help! having a problem with my 1990 ls400

So, this is my first time postig here. Been here a while but never have posted

About a year ago i got a '90 ls400, its in ok shape and has run fine. It sat for a few months due to bad tires and i work at walmart so i cant afford to drop huge amounts of cash at one time. Started it a few times a week and kept it running fine. Started driving it a few weeks ago after the purchase of new rims and tires and i havent had a problem with the engine at all. Theres about 180 something thousand miles on it but like i said, it has run fine since i got it.

Driving home today about 1 1/2 hours ago, the car started to shimmy and lurch, the rpm guage was bouncing up and down then it just died! I was going about 65 when it suddenly died on me. I had also just switched on the cruise control, i dont know if that would have anything to do with it, since there hasnt been an issue with t before. I coasted to a stop, waited a few minutes, tried to turn it back on. It sputtered once before starting. About 14 miles down the road it shimmied and lurched again, but this time it didnt die right away, it seemed to be fighting to stay going. It limped about 50 feet, across the highway and finally died on my road. Thankfully it died on my road and not in the middle of the highway so i waited a few minutes again but this time it died 4 times after i started it up *vroom-sputter-dead* just like that (i explain things a little weird) it stayed going after the 4th time and i got home, kept it running for a little bit to see if it would die again and nothing. Now its starting just fine. It hasnt had a problem until tonight. it has always run strong