LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

'98 LS400 timing belt replacement..cam seal question

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-11, 10:22 AM
Gen414
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '98 LS400 timing belt replacement..cam seal question

Hey guys, newbie to forum, and newbie to the Lexus crowd. Been a 'Yota guy all my life, thanks to my Dad who had worked for 'Yota since @ 1971 up until his death last year. I also worked as a tech for a short period of time back in '94/'95 for 'Yota. (My Dad also left me his Previa when he passed on, which I still have)

ANYWAYS, Ive done my share of TB replacements on different makes/models over the years, including a RX300 Lexus about 2-3 months ago for a friend of mine (I own a performance shop, so dont normally do maintenance type of stuff, more along the lines of Hot Rodding and what have you.

ANYWAYS (again), when I was doing the TB on the RX, my friend wanted me to do the cam seals. When I popped open the cover, I noticed Cam Seals werent leaking, but since I was there, and he had bought seals already, that I would change 'em out. Uh, yeah, couldnt get the bolts loosened off cam gear. So, what is the trick? I put belt back on to hold the motor, but it jsut jumped teeth. I used my IR Impact, but to no avail. Using a 3 foot long cheater bar, and is when belt jumped teeth. I messed with it for close to an hour, before I was like, forget it, they are not leaking, and I need to wrap this up.

Well, I just bought the LS for my wife (and really, as a nice family car for her, me and our 2 kids) and Im gonna do the TB on it, and I KNOW cam seals are leaking on it. Soooooooo......Im sure doesnt take a gen ius to figure out where I am going with this...

HOW DO I LOOSEN CAM BOLTS WITHOUT BREAKING ANYTHING?!?!?!? Special tool to hold cam gear? Or was the RX 300 a freak occurence and NORMALLY the bolts are not that tight, and I wont have the same problem with the LS?