LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

New to the forum! And I come with bad news :(

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-10, 07:03 PM
marine1342
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the forum! And I come with bad news :(

Hey CL, I'm new to this particular forum. Lots of good information here, did a quick search on things.

Unfortunately I have come here with some hard news. My brother (younger) managed to not pay attention while driving and rear ended someone. In my lexus....
Bit of information on this; the car is a 1994 Ls400 with 113,000 miles. Body is straight rides great, had minor hiccups (steering shimmy from lack of fluid, and the acceleration problem, both easy fixes) but ran like a beauty, best maintenance free vehicle I've ever dealt with.
He was leaving his school parking lot rear ended a Chrysler SUV going maybe 5 at most 10 mph. They had a hitch and with his last minute breaking he ended up driving the nose of the car underneath the Chrysler. The hood is pushed downwards into the radiator (hood is toast). The bumper is broken through and crushed (bumper done) left headlight is smashed (headlights done) and the radiator was punctured and pushed back on the left hand side (as you sit in the car, radiator done).

My parents had the car towed to a shop recommended to them by Geico (our insurance...). They took apart the front today to asses the damage and have the insurance adjuster make a verdict.

The part I'm having trouble with is that from my understanding on accidents and insurance, is that the mechanic gives you an estimate and the insurance company looks at it, adjusts it and then tells you "Ok we'll fix it" or "Sorry its a total loss, here's $100"