LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Just test drove a 1995 LS400... It's a must have!

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-10, 07:51 AM
Lsportline43
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Just test drove a 1995 LS400... It's a must have!

Ok, so I'm a long time member, but never had the chance to test drive a LS400. Last night I did.

I cannot believe how it feels to drive that car. It's far from the experience of driving anything else. It feels, to me, to be the best built car I've ever driven. The only comparable vehicles that I've driven are a '93 Toyota MR2 and a '01 BMW M3. I've even driven a '98 SC400 and didn't get the same reaction. The LS400 seems to have been better designed and engineered than the SC400.

Anyways, I'm a college student and I'm about ready to buy one. What I'm asking is for you guys to help me decide whether or not I should.

I'm looking at a 1995 LS400 with 170,000 miles. I haven't talked much with the owner about service records and what not, but I will. The asking price is $3,999.00. I'm sure it's negotiable, but w/out timing belt/waterpump service I'm only willing to pay $3,200.00. Is that fair? Overall condition is clean, but I need to check the autocheck records.

So what should I do? Go back to a beater 4-cylinder or should I just invest in the LS400 and drive it forever?
Old 02-02-10, 08:29 AM
ck90211
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post