LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

so its said...

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-09, 07:44 PM
dsabc2867
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question so its said...

so its been told to me that if i flush the transmission and change the fluid in it that the possibilty of the transmission breaking is very good. one guy has even said that the transmission will go into "shock". this guy made it sound like my car has a central nervous system. but im no mechanic and i really dont know anything about this stuff. so can so someone tell me if this true. and one more thing. has anyone ever installed a rebuilt torque converter from lextreme? thank you guys for any information that you might provide.
Old 11-18-09, 08:56 PM
valex
Advanced

Received 45 Likes on 36 Posts

What many members do is drain whatever comes out - approx.2 qts (I have a 1999 LS) and refill with the same amount of new Toyota IV ATF every oil change. This way you keep your fluid clean without dropping the pan. A Toyota tech and some members here said that opening transmission could creat problems and you could do more harm than good. I don`t know how true all that is, but I just followed the advice and have been doing drain/refill 2 qts.
Old 11-18-09, 09:18 PM
AceVA
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There's a difference between doing a flush and fluid exchange. With a FLUSH and a high mileage transmission that has not been cared for, there is a chance that contaminants could be dislodged and cause the transmission to fail.

A fluid exchange (this does not add any pressure and simply passes the old fluid through a unit and new fluid is put in its place) is safe and the only way to get all fluid out.

Ask the facility what type of equipment they use.
Old 11-18-09, 09:50 PM
thebeeguy
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by AceVA