LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Rear Differential Problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-09, 06:10 PM
JimsGX
Lexus Test Driver

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Rear Differential Problem

1991 LS400 - How common are problems with the rear differential on the first gen cars? Took my 91 with 84k miles to my local mechanic today. I've been chasing an elusive drive train vibration for the last 18 months. He put the car up on the lift and ran it up in drive. There was an obvious howling noise coming from the differential that you don't here when the vehicle has all four sneakers on the ground. He decided to drain the differential oil (which I had replaced 7k miles ago when the vibration first started) and found that the magnet on the drain plug was completely loaded with metal shavings. He's pulling out the differential and having it rebuilt by a local transmission shop that does a lot of differential work. He's of the opinion that this is definitely the cause of my vibration. It happens consistently between 25-30mph and has a howling noise from the rear on the highway between 60-65mph. Lexus had told me this howling noise was due to the installation of an aftermarket front exhaust Y pipe. I guess I'll find out after the differential is rebuilt if the noise is still there. He doesn't think its very likely a problem with the ring gears, more likely with one of the diff short shaft bearings or diff propeller shaft bearings inside the differential

Has anyone had their differential rebuilt before? I'm wondering what the cost was for it...

Thanks,
Jim
Old 05-13-09, 10:31 AM
leboyd1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by JimsGX