LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Low mi. '94 LS for me?

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-07, 08:04 AM
Spacepig
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Low mi. '94 LS for me?

Newbie here, but been lurking for a while. Can finally begin shopping for my first Lex. Been waffling between both GS and LS, but looking today at a '94 LS w/ only 60k. Has the Nak. sound system and is apparently mint except for the beginnings of the dreaded flickering dash. I'm also aware of the PS issues with these cars, but anything else unique or tricky I should look for? Also, how does one value a car like this? KBB is ridiculous high ($10.8k for excellent) while Edmunds seems way low ($5.6k). Owner is using KBB as starting point, but the office Lex-head says if spending $8-10k, I should go for newer cars and not get hung up on the low mileage since they run forever. Any thoughts appreciated. I look forward to becoming an owner soon (since I'm selling main driver this week).
Old 10-27-07, 08:12 AM
LiCelsior
Retired

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

check susps. they are expensive to replace, check maintenance with the car too like timing belt, water pump, caps, rotors, everything. the flickering dash is easy to fix if u have soldering skills but try to use that to bump down the price a bit. any lights that come on? TRAC? Check engine light? ABS? Airbag? Seatbelt light? good luck. http://www.lexls.com/tutorials/intro/codereading.html to pull the codes.
Old 10-27-07, 08:23 AM
Spacepig
Rookie

Thanks for quick reply! I thought I didn't have to worry about the timing belt until 90k (or is there also an age issue there?)
Old 10-27-07, 08:26 AM
LiCelsior
Retired

u never know, might be good to just inspect the damn thing while ur there! costly maintenance to repair those stuff unless ur a DIY-er person.
Old 10-27-07, 01:16 PM
Spacepig
Rookie