LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Hello all! looking to buy a 90-95 Lexus LS400

Old 03-19-04, 11:44 PM
YoshiMan
Racer

Received 92 Likes on 84 Posts
Question Hello all! looking to buy a 90-95 Lexus LS400

Hey everyone! whatsup? im new to this message board, and am looking to join the ranks with you Fellow Lexus drivers. RIght now i am driving a 1989' Toyota Landcruiser FJ62, and befroe that i had a 78' Toyota Landcruiser FJ40. MY family also has 6 OTher Toyotas (the only company i would ever trust) I realized recently that for the price i could sell my LAndcruiser for, i could afford one of the early model LS400s, and i have had my heart set on them ever since! I have always loved the LS400s, they are SOOO sytlish! i rode in a friends LS430 about a year ago and kind of had a secret obsession with them since. So, a few questions:

my frist big one: do any of the early LS's have rust problems? My previous and my current vehicle suffer from this, and i am fed up with it, one of the reasons im doing the switch. I HATE RUST!!!

Is there any particular problems that i should be aware of that these can have?

what things need attention after about 100,000 miles or so? 150,000?

Would i be crazy if a spent 7500 on a 95' LS400 With 170,000 miles on it? i found one that runs strong and is a cherry, not a single thing wrong with it, only the miles. Considering that this is a Toyota Built product, the 1UZFE engine should go to 300,000 if well maintained, right? (i am planning to keep this car for a very long time, so if it suffered a large failure, then i would be willing to just replace that component and keep on cruising)

what about options like the air suspention? is this failure prone, or is it a fun option to have?