LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

car won't start

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-04, 04:58 PM
fjstl
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default car won't start

This is a terrific car and I'm new to this make. Because the car wasn't starting, I and my mechanic thought it was possible that all of my keys may have been corrupted because of their being placed on top of a mobil swipe card. The keys checked out ok and the car still won't start. My mechanic believes the problem is in the immobilizer and is changing the "amplifier" which I believe sends a signal from a transponder key to the rf remote security center that tells the car to start. I've been told that they don't believe it is in the ecm, as there are no codes and the car was running absolutely beautiful until it decided to just spin over without starting. The sound is like a broken timing belt sound, but thats been ruled out.

Has anyone experienced such a problem, and if so how was it resolved and what did it cost? Does anyone have any suggestions?

I am desparate for help. thank you.
Old 06-23-04, 07:23 PM
gserep1
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default THE MOBIL SWIPE CARD THEORY DOESN'T SOUND RIGHT

Hello,
You never mentioned how old your car is and what kind of service it has had recently. The engine spins over, but doesn't catch. What about using a set of keys that have not been subjected to the Mobil swipe card. If you try that, and it still doesn't start, then that rules out the swipe card theory.

I would then check the ECU-1B fuse under the hood. This is the one we all pull out to reset our ECM's from time to time. But you can also check that by verifying that you have all your radio presets. If those are still intact,. then it is not the fuse. If the fuse is okay, then you are into some deep electrical concerns, and it may be the immobiliser, but this is highly unusual under normal circumstances,