LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Skeaky suspension on rear corner, shock absorber ?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-15, 05:35 PM
Vansibel
Intermediate

Received 56 Likes on 40 Posts
Default Skeaky suspension on rear corner, shock absorber ?

Just came back from a ride and since it's getting pretty warm here I decided to drive with open windows. At low speed I noticed a unusual squeak coming from the rear passenger wheel when I got over small potholes. This part of the car seems to shake really fast a few time before settling. I can also hear a drum like vibration in the car coming from that corner. I can feel an unusual bounce which take time to settle when it happen. I'm no expert but from what I read the usual suspect should be either a defective shock of broken control arm ? I'll get a nearby garage to take a look next week. Gotta admit, like some members pointed out, I'm surprised to see those kind of issues on a car which didn't even broke the 45000 miles mark yet... And that's for a car that I take really good care of and not used as a daily driver.
Old 05-08-15, 06:47 PM
Vansibel
Intermediate

Just did the simple shaking test as shown in this vid:

And the rear side which the noise come from is MUCH easier to shake than the other side. So I guess I need new shock. Would I need to replace them in pair like that guy recommend or just the problematic one ? Any idea on the cost I should expect and I'm guessing I'm better going with oem ones ? Thank you very much for any inputs you guys can provide. I'm not a mechanic but it's always interesting to learn new stuff.

Edit: Is there any special procedure on changing those on the ls600 with air (like adjusting some parameter trough odbII port) or pretty much any mechanic will be able to do this ?

Last edited by Vansibel; 05-08-15 at 07:05 PM.
Old 05-09-15, 11:09 AM
Lextrician
Lexus Test Driver

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts