LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Buy 2007 LS460 from friend for trade value?

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-10, 01:09 PM
e-man
Pole Position

Received 41 Likes on 32 Posts
Default Buy 2007 LS460 from friend for trade value?

Hey everyone.

I currently own a 1999 GS400, 143k miles. I previously owned a 1998 GS400. Between the 2 cars, I've been driving a GS400 for about the last 6 years. I'm going to be 42 years old in February, and it's about time for a change.

A close friend owns a 2007 LS460, gray on black, nav, 28k miles. I'm not sure what other options the car has. He is tired of driving it in the snow, and is going to trade it in for a truck (probably a Land Rover, although possibly a GX). He is going to start looking this month. He is most likely going to order something, but if there's something on the lot that is exactly what he wants, he wouldn't hesitate to pull the trigger.

He has offered to sell me his car for the amount the dealer offers him for it (plus sales tax -- because in Illinois, as in other states, you get a tax credit on the value of your trade, so by buying his car from him, he'd be losing that benefit).

Anyway, I've done some research, and it looks like the trade value for the car is around $38k. I'm not sure what a dealer would offer him, but I assume it would be something less, maybe in the $35k range.

Is there anything I need to watch out for? Were there any glaring problems with the 2007 model being the first year of the new generation? If this question has been posted and answered, I apologize.

Thanks in advance for any help.

e
Old 01-03-10, 03:25 PM
RGSW
Intermediate

Received 101 Likes on 75 Posts
Default 2007 ls 460