LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Lexus LS460L Subtle Rattle in Rear Cabin Deck

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-16, 12:16 AM
v8sprint
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Lexus LS460L Subtle Rattle in Rear Cabin Deck

Hello To All

I cannot believe this is my first time to post to Club Lexus! I have been an avid LS owner since 2004, with my first 1993- to move on to own a 91, 94, 96, and 2007. I have referenced CL since day one!
I suppose I will do a job of posting more often, as I DIY like its my job.

I wanted to bring some knowledge to the community with some experience in my 2007 LS460L; and the nagging subtle muffled rattle in the rear cabin deck.

It turns out that if you remove the passenger side panel in the trunk, whereas you are capable to reach behind the frame and the rear fender panel. There I found a drain hose, neatly wrapped in sound deadening material, but loose enough to rattle around against the outer rear fender panel enough to create that elusive subtle rattling sound.

I simply did a quick fastening job with gorilla "duct" tape, in order to secure the hose to the inner frame of the trunk. This prevents the hose from moving around with "ANY" movement produced by the vehicle over the smallest of bumps to the largest of bumps.

I checked everything from the sunshade, to the speakers, to the subwoofer, to the air ride suspension caps (accessed by removing my electronic reclining rear seats), to securing all hardware in the spare tire compartment, to the middle row seat belt "housing", to the middle row headrest "relaxed position", to the rear center console.