LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

At 248k, I went to a '10 460L

Old 03-03-17, 08:35 PM
jrmckinley
Pole Position

Received 335 Likes on 228 Posts
Default At 248k, I went to a '10 460L

Sorry fellas, I was hoping to make it to 250k and post my impeccable service history in my '04 here once I hit 250k. I didn't quite make it that far as I traded in my LS430 at 248k miles when I fell in love with a 2010 Smokey Granite LS460L with black leather interior in south FL. More details with pics in the 4th Gen forum, but I had been kicking tires for about 2 years and had all kinds of whacky formulas in my head on how to associate value to 460's based on year and mileage (ex: I calculated in my local market what every 10k of miles was worth for the same year by constantly monitoring listing prices for private parties and dealers). Yes, I was overly analytical about it but was trying to figure out how to get a good deal. Long story short, I found a late-production 2010 (almost an '11) with documented Lexus service every 5k, one owner, clean CarFax at an absolute steal at an Audi dealership and fell in love with the car so I bit the bullet.

As someone who has driven no fewer than 15 LS460's in the last couple of years, I'm not quite sure what is so different about the one I found... maybe it's the LWB, but for the doubters (and I was one) of how quiet and smooth an LS460 can be, I have to say I feel I have gotten a big upgrade. The feeling of the doors closing in the 460 helps me understand how substantial the vehicle is. Driving it is a real pleasure, with only positive impressions compared to my 430 thus far on the highway and around town. The leather seats in particular are far superior to anything I have ever felt in the LS line (not sure if the "L" uses different material).