LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

2002 LS 430 105k - would you buy this?

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-16, 05:13 PM
Macattak1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 LS 430 105k - would you buy this?

What would you want to know? I am new to the Lexus arena. Especially the 2002 one.

https://www.infinitioftampa.com/used...e36e8a36a8.htm

Concerned about costs for repairs going forward...
All input appreciated.
Old 08-06-16, 07:44 PM
jayclapp
Lexus Champion

Received 104 Likes on 85 Posts

I have no idea about price, but a bit suspicious about the ad itself. It appears to be a bare bones base model, not that that is a bad thing itself, but all the options listed are standard equipment! The only option I can see is the chrome wheels. The car visually looks like it is in pretty good condition. I don't think the dealer knows much about this car. Just my observation and opinion.
Old 08-06-16, 07:48 PM
rileydawg
Driver School Candidate

looks clean actually. I have an 02' that just cracked 160k mileage. Test all the electronics, brakes, suspension. Find another one to drive the same model in the area and compare.

Do you like the color?

Old 08-06-16, 08:22 PM
Duck05
Racer

Received 360 Likes on 241 Posts

In looking up the vehicle service records, appears to have been maintained by Lexus of Tampa. Small dent repair at 18K that did not require paint, road side jump start later on.... All regular maintenance at Lexus...

Could be a good one.....

Old 08-06-16, 08:39 PM
Tom57
Pole Position

Received 67 Likes on 63 Posts

Looks very clean in the pics. Condition is everything on a 14+ year-old car. Check all Lexus maintenance history, especially make sure the timing belt & water pump were done around the 90K mile mark. If not, negotiate down since that is a required maintenance item. Average dealer cost ~ +/- $900.
Old 08-07-16, 12:53 AM
texan_176
Intermediate

Received 33 Likes on 24 Posts