LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Mark Levisnon Sub not working

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-12, 07:42 AM
Jabberwock

Received 203 Likes on 166 Posts

I have been replacing speakers in my cars for 35 years. In almost every case the new speakers (even exact same size speakers) will not be a perfect exact fit for the existing mounting holes, brackets, wire length, connections, etc. So any install is likely take a bit of head scratching, some creativity, and some mechanical ingenuity to create a good solid workable install for the new speakers. Modifications can involve drilling new holes for mounting screws, grinding away some plastic (or metal) on internal trim and/or OEM speaker mounts, increasing speaker wire length, or making new mounting plates, adding spacers and gaskets,etc. It does not have to be pretty since its all internal but it has to be functional acoustically and mechanically solid..these are parts that vibrate and shake so they will come loose and rattle unless the job is done right. .
Old 08-12-12, 08:18 AM
john339
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have to agree with Jabberwock, the finished project had better be solid or the woofer will vibrate and mess up your sound. I have used sealer, silicone, around the edge of the mounting plate and then fastened it with the screws. I figured it would keep the speaker solidly in the frame.
Seemed to work on the speakers I have replaced over the years.
Tweeters don't seem to have the same problems probably because the woofer wants to dance when you turn it up.
Old 08-13-12, 03:17 AM
LEX ES300
Intermediate

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

I'm in the same boat with my Subwoofer on my 04 LS430. I've tried the glue fix around the speaker but its past that. Dealer in Australia wants $470 for new sub (part only) and wouldn't even give me the part number!!