LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Pictures of Moonstone anyone?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-03, 05:44 PM
senneca01
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pictures of Moonstone anyone?

Hey everyone, newbie here!

Does anyone have any nice pictures of what Moonstone looks like? I am looking at buying a 1996 LS400 that is Moonstone, but the car is about 200 miles away and the owner doesn't have any pictures of it. The owner is asking $12,900 for it with 66k miles, and it is supposed to be in superb condition. Is this what moonstone looks like below? This is the only picture I could find on the net. I am not sure? Please help a new guy out...thanks.

BTW, is moonstone a metallic like color or a pearl color? What makes it look pearl?

Old 09-24-03, 10:34 PM
squarehat
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Moonstone was a very popular color for the 1995-1997 cars. A quick search of eBay netted me several cars of that vintage and color. I've posted links so you can examine them (for information only, I have no connection with these whatsoever, I'm just an enthusiast.)

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...category=14240

"Pearl" means an interference in the paint that causes light to sparkle. It can be a metallic flake or sand particles (mica). Some pearlescent paints have a separate base coat, pearl coat, and clearcoat (3-stage paint). The only Lexus colors I can think of with the 3 stage paint are the older Diamond White Pearl and the newer Crystal White/White Gold Crystal).

Good luck with the car, wish I had come across a deal like that when shopping for my 96 ES last year, I'd have a nice V8 under the hood right now
Old 09-25-03, 07:30 AM
senneca01
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thanks for the great info.

The guy also says that the interior is "Ivory." What does that look like exactly?

TIA...
Old 09-25-03, 09:09 AM
squarehat
Lexus Test Driver